Nine political parties decide not to take part in meeting to be held at New Delhi

IMPHAL, Jan 28 (IFP): A joint political party meeting was held today at the conference hall of Chief Minister’s Secretariat to discuss the issue of Citizenship (Amendment) Bill (CAB), 2019, after which nine political parties have decided that they will not be taking part in the next all political parties meet scheduled to be held at New Delhi as the state government had failed to accept the demands made by the nine political parties earlier. The first round meeting was conducted for four hours from 9:00 am to 1:00 pm at the conference hall of Chief Minister’s Secretariat and it was chaired by chief minister, N. Biren,  while the second round meeting is scheduled to be held at 5:00 pm this evening. Speaking to media persons, president of Shiv Sena State unit, M. Tombi stated that in the meeting most of the majority political parties opposed the bill. The meeting decide to approach the central government to provide protection for the state from the bill. Secretary of CPI, state unit, Sotinkumar said that the CAB is a communal bill and it will not only bring communal tensions among communities but also the bill is unconstitutional and is against secularism. Most of the majority of political parties demands a special assembly session in to order to jointly approach the Centre against the bill and it must be withdrawn immediately, he added. Despite no efforts to withdraw the bill, the government wants to insert a clause in the bill so that the state would not affect by the bill before the bill is placed on the floor of Rajya Sabha, said state general secretary of Forward Block, Khomdram Gyaneshwar adding that the bill needs to be withdrawn in order to insert the clause. President, All India Trinamool Congress, Manipur state unit, S. Manaoton Singh said the government gave its opinion during the meeting that the political parties of the state need to urge the central government to give assent to the Manipur People’s Protection Bill, 2018. As announced earlier, the state Congress and Manipur Peoples Party were absent in the joint political meeting. It may be mentioned here that former chief minister, Okram Ibobi had said that state Congress party will not attain the meeting as the meeting is to be organised in order to find excuses of the government regarding the bill. Ibobi had also mentioned that the government had failed to accept the proposal of Congress and other political parties to conduct a special session regarding the bill. The government need to give its stand on the bill whether it is against or in favour of the bill. He also asserted that the state government supports the bill in order to please the central government, adding that in this scenario the government should give priority to the interest of public while disregarding the chairs or positions they are holding at the moment.
He further alleged that the government is fooling the public stating that how a bill which has been passed in Lok Sabha could be rectified. “For this to be accomplished, the bill has to be withdrawn, it has to be deliberated before the Joint Parliamentary Committee as per protocol, they are trying to fool the public,” Ibobi said. President, Manipur Peoples Party (MPP), O. Jugindro said that the party decided not to take part in the political parties’ meeting as the state government had failed to express a concrete stand against the bill. Later, during a joint press conference held today at Irawat Bhavan, convenor of Peoples’ Resurgence and Justice Alliance (PRJA), Erendro said the nine political parties have made demands for just two mere points. The points include calling a special session in order to discuss the bill and immediate withdrawal of CAB. He said as the government failed to meet the demands of the nine political parties, representatives of the parties will not take part in the meeting which is to be organised in order to discuss the bill. It may be mentioned that the nine political parties includes Communist Party of India, Manipur (CPI); Communist Party of India (Marxist), CPI(M); Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP); Forward Bloc; Nationalist Congress Party (NCP); Aam Aadmi Party (AAP); Peoples’ Resurgence and Justice Alliance (PRAJA); Janata Dal (Secular), (JDS) and  Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP).
Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Close Menu