Nagaland’s 59 MLAs cast their votes for Presidential Election

KOHIMA, Jul 17 (NEPS): Elections to vote India’s 14th President took place on Monday from 10:00 am to 5:00 pm at the Nagaland Assembly Secretariat, Kohima. Facing off candidates are the BJP-led NDA’s candidate, Ram NathKovind, and the joint Opposition candidate Meira Kumar.

Members of the Nagaland Legislative Assembly participated in the electoral process at the Nagaland Legislative Assembly from 10:00 AM onwards. The election process was carried out smoothly in accordance with the norms and procedures laid down by the Constitution of India.

In general, the total strength of the electoral college is 10,98,903 votes, with each Parliamentarian carrying a vote value of 708. The vote weight of a member of a State Assembly is calculated keeping in mind the population of the state he or she represents. A candidate needs 50 per cent-plus votes to win the poll which translates to 5,49,452 votes. The counting of votes will take place on 20th July in Delhi. President Pranab Mukherjee’s term is expiring on 25th July.

Leave a Reply