KOHIMA, July 3: Chief Minister T.R. Zeliang attended the e-Marathon flag off programme organized by the Department of Information Technology & Communication Government of Nagaland at Nagaland Civil Secretariat on 3rd July 2015.

The Digital India is an initiative of the government of India to integrate the government departments and the people of India. Its aim is to ensure that the government services are made available to citizens electronically by reducing paperwork. The digital India week programme was officially launched by Prime Minister, Modi on 1st July 2015 in New Delhi.

The e-marathon event was organized by the Department of Information Technology & Communications, Government of Nagaland to mark the Digital India week programme which is from 1st July to 8th July 2015 at the State capital.

Speaking at the program the Chief Minister said that digital India programme launched in Nagaland along with mainland Indian States indicates that the Government of India is now serious in bringing inclusive development even in far flung areas like Nagaland. He said that e-marathon event organized by IT&C Department is more to do with ‘e’ part which is to promote electronic media or e-governance in the country. He encouraged the Department to bring e-governance in the State no matter how tiresome and difficult it may be. He also urged the citizen of Nagaland to embrace the benefits and opportunity which comes along with large e-governance initiatives in the form of digital India programme.

The Chief Minister further said that the driving force behind the fast changing world is technology and therefore to be active and become useful citizen one must embrace all forms of technologies including e-technology. He added that a not far from now a person will be considered illiterate if one does not know how to use computer. Therefore, he urged all to adopt all friendly technologies so that we will stand out as winners in the race of mankind of the 21st century.

He also said the Digital India programme came at the opportune time for the people and we must not miss this golden opportunity to put our people in par with the rest of the world. The Chief Minister congratulated the winners of the e-marathon, participants and organizers and said that such event will result in transforming the lives of our people and usher in a new era of development, peace and prosperity.

Also speaking at the programme Minister for IT&C, Paiwang Konyak said the e-marathon will herald the arrival of digital India programme and massive transformation initiatives to the State of Nagaland. He also said that the programme will bring digital revolution in the country to effectively deal with problems of corruption and also bring transparency and efficiency in governance. He appealed to the people of Nagaland specially the youths to seize this opportunity of digital India to transform our state into modern developed State.

Paiwang Konyak also added that his department is making comprehensive technical plans to put the State of Nagaland on top position in IT sector. “Due to poor internet connectivity and power supply in that State the progress of IT related activity is hampered and so in  future the transformation programme will extend to BSNL and Power department “ he said. He called on the youths of Nagaland to play a bigger role in socio-economic development through proper use of information technology and said that none will be deprived of the benefits of various transformation programmes launched by Modi government.

Earlier, the Chief Minister flagged off the e- marathon race at the Secretariat junction. Key note address was given by Commissioner & Secretary (IT&C), KD Vizo and vote of thanks was pronounced by DC Kohima Rovilatuo Mor IAS who also chaired the programme.

Prizes and certificates were given to the winners by the chief guest at the programme. Winners of girl’s marathon race were Vekuvolu Lohe, Nuduvolu and Vetavolu and boys 1st, 2nd and 3rd were N.Buchong Khiam, Keneisao Theunuo and Neica Beituo Shuya. The programme was attended by Ministers, Parliamentary Secretaries, Heads of Department and other officials.

Leave a Reply